top of page

My Semester As a Professional Tourist: Final Reflections


Me holding my first cover story!

After the shock and excitement of being accepted into CIEE Prague’s fall study abroad program settled in last spring, I got to work researching all that I could about Prague and its tourist attractions. However, after Googling around the web for hours, I was met with only gimmicky tourism websites and outdated personal blogs.

That all changed when a CIEE alumna told me about The Prague Visitor, a monthly English-speaking magazine and website aimed toward tourists who want to get the most out of their visits to Prague. The magazine, which got its start just last year, publishes a monthly print edition complete with an events calendar, map of popular restaurants and nightlife hangouts, and three to four Prague-based feature stories.

Quickly after I learned about The Visitor, I realized it was the perfect place to intern while abroad. What would better help me explore a new city than to work at a magazine meant for tourists like me?

Now that I am in the final weeks of my editorial internship at The Visitor, I can say firmly that I was right. Through my writing for the magazine, I’ve been able to tour restaurants and art galleries, participate in photoshoots at scenic locations around Prague, interview inspiring Czechs like David Černý and Janek Rubes, and interact daily with Czech colleagues—all the while building a strong portfolio of stories.

Of course, I can’t say that this experience has been easy. While the perks of the job far outnumber its disadvantages, the tight deadlines and chaotic work environment of the journalism industry can be a challenge. At one point in November, for example, I was tasked with completing a cover story from start to finish in only five days (I did it!). As if the stress of producing a monthly print issue isn’t enough, I had to navigate an entirely new culture to do it, sometimes requiring a translator and pretty often embarassing myself along the way.

However, I’m walking away from my internship at The Visitor not only with a number of strong stories at my back, but also with a newfound sense of confidence and ability to solve problems creatively. It’s been stressful, exciting, challenging, and at times scary—but above all, my most rewarding experience abroad.


bottom of page